History of the Project

As part of its 10th Anniversary celebration in 2008, ILA began work on a new program that carries into both the future of the ILA and the future of leadership studies: The Leadership Legacy Program. Each year the ILA confers individuals from the field of leadership with ILA's Lifetime Achievement Award, inducting them into the Leadership Legacy Program at our annual global conference. Honorees are selected based on their significant and diverse contributions to the field of leadership.

During the conference, honorees host special sessions with conference attendees that allow the Leadership Legacy Program inductees to explore the conference theme from their own unique perspectives. The ILA thanks Larraine Matusak for her leadership in creating this project and for her founding sponsorship. We also wish to thank the Randall L. Tobias Center for Leadership Excellence at Indiana University for conducting oral histories with our recipients.

Since 2008, twenty-five internationally renowned thinkers have been inducted into the project. Learn more about the contributions each have made to the field of leadership by clicking on their name above.

Leadership Legacy Committee: Ron Riggio (chair), Dave Collinson (chair-elect), Scott Allen, Cynthia Cherrey, Gill Hickman, Manfred Kets de Vries, Jean Lipman-Blumen.

2017 News & Events

12-15 October
2017 Lifetime Achievement Award winners honored at 19th annual conference Leadership in Turbulent Times

Oct 13, 12:15 - 13:15: Stella Nkomo presents The Continuing Challenges and Debates of Women's Leadership at ILA 2017 Brussels

Oct 14, 12:00 - 13:00: Robert Lord presents Seven Issues That Have Limited Leadership Researchat ILA 2017 Brussels

Oct 14, 17:15 - 18:15: A Tribute to James Meindl: Honoring his Spirit and Legacy at ILA 2017 Brussels