West Palm Beach Banner

Agenda  |  Plenaries  |  Awards

2018 Conference Awards

SAGE Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper

Stuart AllenPeter Williams
2018 Award Winners
Stuart Allen and Peter Williams

SAGE Publishing is pleased to partner with the ILA's Leadership Education Member Interest Group (LEMIG) to sponsor the "Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper" award. Maggie Stanley, an acquisitions editor at SAGE, cited the LEMIG's priority to "advance the field of leadership education to and from all corners of the globe," as something the company wholeheartedly believes in. "As a values-driven, global company, SAGE is committed to providing the highest-quality resources for leadership educators. In addition to recognizing an outstanding unpublished paper, this award also helps support conference attendance by helping to fund the travel of the award winners."

Stuart Allen and Peter Williams have won this year's Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper Award. They will present their paper, "Changes to Undergraduate Students' Attitudes to Learning about Leadership, Religion, and Spirituality," at ILA's 20th annual global conference this October. The winners will be honored at a special ceremony during the Leadership Education Member Interest Group Luncheon, Thursday, 25 October at 13:30. Learn more about this important work. Read our short article and interview with the winners.

Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award

The International Leadership Association (ILA) and the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL) are pleased to partner to sponsor the annual Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award to recognize outstanding unpublished papers with a focus on leadership or leadership development written by undergraduate or graduate students. The award is named in honor of the distinguished scholar and former CEO of CCL. Recipients are honored at the Annual ILA Global Conference each year where they present their work in a special session. In addition to expenses to the conference, recipients receive $1,000 and a complimentary ILA membership.

Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award

In partnership with the Jepson School of Leadership Studies at the University of Richmond, The Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award is given annually to a scholar from any discipline whose recently completed doctoral dissertation demonstrates substantial insights and implications for the study of leadership. The award was established to honor and celebrate the life of Dr. Fredric M. Jablin (1952-2004).

11th Annual Student Case Competition

Learn more about this year's competition

Organized by ILA's Leadership Education Member Interest Group (LEMIG), the yearly case competition brings together teams of students to face-off in an event where they analyze and develop a specific set of strategic recommendations that address key issues in a real world case involving a contemporary leadership issue of their choice. The winning team from each division (graduate and undergraduate) receives a $1,000 cash prize and is honored at the closing plenary of the conference.

Lifetime Achievement Award

As part of its 10th Anniversary celebration in 2008, ILA began work on a new program that carries into both the future of the ILA and the future of leadership studies: The Leadership Legacy Program. Each year the ILA confers individuals from the field of leadership with ILA's Lifetime Achievement Award, inducting them into the Leadership Legacy Program at our annual global conference. Honorees are selected based on their significant lifetime contributions including prominent published works, influential support of the body of leadership knowledge and practice resulting in significant contributions to the field of leadership studies.

Joanne Ciulla

Professor of Leadership Ethics and Academic Director of the Institute for Ethical Leadership, Rutgers University Business School.

Learn more

Keith Grint

Professor of Public Leadership at Warwick University

Learn more