Theme  |  Agenda  |  Plenaries  | Pre-Con Workshops  |  Special Events |  Awards

2017 Conference Awards

SAGE Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper

2017 Award Winners (L-R)
Stephen J. Linenberger, John Schmidt, and
Jennifer Moss Breen

SAGE is pleased to be the sponsor of the "Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper" award. SAGE awards the winners with travel allowances to attend ILA Brussels; to partner with the leadership community and support attendance of ILA's 19th Annual Global conference. SAGE has been an exhibitor over the past few years at ILA and we're excited to be a part of ILA's 19th Annual Global conference again this year in October.

Stephen J. Linenberger, John Schmidt, and Jennifer Moss Breen have won this year's Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper Award. They will present their paper, "It’s Good for What Ails You: Leadership Education in Medical School," at ILA's 19th annual global conference this October. The winners will be honored at a special ceremony during the Leadership Education Member Interest Group Luncheon, Friday, October 13 at 13:30. Learn more about this important work. Read our short article and interview with the winners.

Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award

Aleka MacLellanAleka MacLellan

2017 Award Winner

Learn More

2017 Recipient: Aleka MacLellan, Talent & Leadership Development Consultant,
LHH Knightsbridge

The International Leadership Association (ILA) and the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL) are pleased to partner to sponsor the annual Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award to recognize outstanding unpublished papers with a focus on leadership or leadership development written by undergraduate or graduate students. The award is named in honor of the distinguished scholar and former CEO of CCL. Recipients are honored at the Annual ILA Global Conference each year where they present their work in a special session. In addition to expenses to the conference, recipients receive $1,000 and a complimentary ILA membership.

Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award

Uzay DuralUzay Dural

2017 Award Winner

Learn More

2017 Recipient: Uzay Dural, Assistant Professor, Organizational Psychology,
Medipol University

Uzay Dural has won this year's Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award. She will present her paper, "Exposure-Induced Malleability of Implicit Prejudice toward Female Leadership: A Quasi-Experiment Following Municipality Elections," at ILA's 19th annual global conference this October.

In partnership with the Jepson School of Leadership Studies at the University of Richmond, The Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award is given annually to a scholar from any discipline whose recently completed doctoral dissertation demonstrates substantial insights and implications for the study of leadership. The award was established to honor and celebrate the life of Dr. Fredric M. Jablin (1952-2004).

11th Annual Student Case Competition

Learn more about this year's competition

Working in undergraduate and graduate teams students analyze a real world case involving contemporary leadership issues and present strategic recommendations to a panel of judges at the Annual Global Conference. The top team in each division receive complimentary 1-year memberships in ILA and the winning team in each division receives a $1,000 cash prize to divide among team members.

George Papandreou George Papandreou

Former Prime Minister of Greece (2009-2011)

Learn More
Distinguished Leadership Award

This award is presented to individuals whose contribution to the understanding of and/or practice of effective leadership are significant and have resulted in extraordinary impact which transcends national boundaries. Recipients bestowed the Distinguished Leadership Award serve as inspiring examples to all who labor to make positive change in this world.

Lifetime Achievement Award

As part of the 10th Anniversary celebration in 2008, ILA began work on a new project that carries into both the future of the ILA and the future of leadership studies: The Leadership Legacy Project. The ILA inducts individuals from the field of leadership studies into the Legacy Project by presenting them with ILA's Lifetime Achievement Award at our annual global conference. Honorees are selected based on their significant and diverse contributions to the field of leadership.

Stella Nkomo

Alan Bryman

(Posthumously), Emeritus Professor,
School of Management,
University of Leicester,
United Kingdom

Robert Lord

Professor of Leadership,
Business School,
Durham University,
United Kingdom
Learn more

Stella Nkomo

Professor, Department of Human Resource Management, University of Pretoria; President, Africa Academy of Management
Learn more

James Meindl

(Posthumously), Donald S. Carmichael Professor of Organization and Human Resources in the School of Management, University at Buffalo, United States