2016 Conference Awards

Oskin Leadership Institute Award for Best Leadership Development Submission

"The Oskin Leadership Center at Widener University is pleased to be the sponsor of the award for best leadership development submission. The Oskin Leadership Institute is dedicated to increasing our understanding of leadership, particularly in the areas of ethical leadership, courage, and leadership development and is honored to support the ILA and the work being done by its members in the area of leadership development." - Arthur Schwartz, Founding Director of the Oskin Leadership Institute

The winners are (in the photo L-R): Thiraput (Poom) Pitichat, Amber Kea-Edwards, Eric Middleton, and Becky Reichard from Claremont Graduate University, and Steven M. Norman from Colorado State University-Pueblo, for their paper, "Psychological Capital for Leader Development." Learn more about this work.

SAGE Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper

2016 Award Winners (L-R)
Krista M. Soria, Linnette R. Werner, and David Hellstrom
SAGE is pleased to be the sponsor of the "Most Publishable Leadership Education Paper" award. It is our pleasure to award the winners with travel allowances to attend Atlanta; to partner with the leadership community and support attendance of ILA's 18th Annual Global conference. SAGE has been an exhibitor over the past few years at ILA and we're excited to be a part of ILA's 18th Annual Global conference again this year in November.

Krista M. Soria, Linnette R. Werner, and David Hellstrom have won this year's Most Publishable Leadership Edcuation Paper Award. They will present their paper, "Academic Leadeship Courses: Catalysts for Students' Retention and Graduation Success," at ILA's 18th annual global conference The Dynamics of Inclusive Leadership this November. The winners will be honored at a special ceremony during the Leadership Education Member Interest Group Luncheon, Thursday, November 3rd at 13:30. Learn more.

Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award

2016 Award Winner Kyoung Yong Kim
2016 Recipient: Kyoung Yong Kim, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Management, College of Business, City Univ. of Hong Kong

"Supportive leadership: A Conditional Process Model Linking Leadership, Climate, and Horizontal Relationships Between Subordinates"

The International Leadership Association (ILA) and the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL) are pleased to partner to sponsor the annual Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award to recognize outstanding unpublished papers with a focus on leadership or leadership development written by undergraduate or graduate students. The award is named in honor of the distinguished scholar and former CEO of CCL.

Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award

2016 Award Winner G. James Lemoine

2016 Recipient: G. James Lemoine, Assistant Professor, Organization and Human Resources Department, Univ. at Buffalo

"Closing the Leadership Circle: Building and Testing a Contingent Theory of Servant Leadership"

In partnership with the Jepson School of Leadership Studies at the University of Richmond, The Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award is given annually to a scholar from any discipline whose recently completed doctoral dissertation demonstrates substantial insights and implications for the study of leadership. The award was established to honor and celebrate the life of Dr. Fredric M. Jablin (1952-2004).

10th Annual Student Case Competition

Gonzaga University
2015 Undergrad Winners

Learn more about this year's competition

Working in undergraduate and graduate teams students analyze a real world case involving contemporary leadership issues and present strategic recommendations to a panel of judges at the Annual Global Conference.

The top team in each division receive complimentary 1-year memberships in ILA and the winning team in each division receives a $1,000 cash prize to divide among team members.

Lifetime Achievement Award

As part of the 10th Anniversary celebration in 2008, ILA began work on a new project that carries into both the future of the ILA and the future of leadership studies: The Leadership Legacy Project. The ILA inducts individuals from the field of leadership studies into the Legacy Project by presenting them with ILA's Lifetime Achievement Award at our annual global conference. Honorees are selected based on their significant and diverse contributions to the field of leadership.

Gill Robinson Hickman

Professor Emerita, Jepson
School of Leadership Studies,
University of Richmond
Learn more

Barabara Kellerman

James MacGregor Burns
Lecturer in Public Leadership,
the Harvard Kennedy School
Learn more

Robert Greenleaf

Founder, Greenleaf Center for
Servant Leadership

Learn more

Helen Astin

Co-Founder, Higher Education
Research Institute (HERI),
University of California Los Angeles
Learn more